Coming clean – iPhone Obsessed!

August 2, 2011

I haven’t turned in my sexy DSLR Canon [or Nikon] and replaced it with my iPhone.  However, I will confess, I’m a little obsessed and slightly in love.  Does this make me a iPhoneographer?

I realised for the first time, I had happily abandoned my DSLR and my favorite G11 point-n-shoot whilst on holiday recently, and became totally addicted and obsessed to my camera and apps on my newly acquired iPhone.

I loved the ease and lightness of not lugging around a heavy DSLR.  I was discrete and quiet as a mouse as my forefinger pressed firmly on the screen.  I loved that there was no noise of a shutter release and I was able to be even more unobtrusive, which delightfully resulted in more authenticity to my street photography and portraits.

I think I fell in love with this Polaroid-like medium.  It [Polaroid] still occupies a special place in the hearts of many photographers, where there was a time that the instant one-off photo was developed within minutes, and was a crucial tool to test-shots before loading the camera with film.

I was attached to the nostalgia and charm of the Polaroid that somehow defies the digital age. Which is the reason why this Digital Photographer fell in love with the Hipstamatic and other applications.  For the quirky looking and instantly gratifying images, it was an all-in-one camera, darkroom, and social-communication device in my handbag.  What’s not too love with sexy new apps that help you creatively process your images within seconds and create something artistic to share or print.

Pejeng Kaja, Ubud Bali © Cynthia Sciberras

Pejeng Kaja, Ubud Bali © Cynthia Sciberras

Pejeng Kaja, Ubud Bali © Cynthia Sciberras

Pejeng Kaja, Ubud Bali © Cynthia Sciberras

© Cynthia Sciberras

After posting my first series of travel photos on Facebook and receiving many “likes,” and comments, I was hooked.   I felt like I was sending my friends and family little postcards as a way of staying in touch creatively.

It wasn’t about capturing that technically perfect image, but capturing a moment and emotion that just happened and sharing that instantly.   Here are a few favorites of mine I took while on a yoga shoot in a very small Village Umah Anyar in Pejeng Kaja in Ubud Bali.

No doubt “iPhoneography” will continue to grow.  This community of talented people are making tracks with many blogs, iPhoneographer workshops and courses, Facebook and other social media groups.  So much creative output, we’re certainly liking that!

I use Hipstamatic and it’s array of film and lens choices and Camera+ for taking images; PhotoForge2 and Camera+ for processing and fine-tuning.  There is a whole ecosystem of apps that help you fine tune, so happy snapping.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment